Burn Permits

The following tips should be followed when it is safe to conduct a debris burn:

  • Check with local authorities to make sure there are no local restrictions on burning currently in place, especially in cities and towns that have their own burning permit system.
  • Notify your local fire department and neighbors to let them know your plans to burn
  • Do not burn on windy days
  • Stay abreast of changing weather conditions
  • Establish wide control lines down to bare mineral soil at least five feet wide around burn piles
  • Keep fire containment equipment on hand during the fire (e.g. rake, shovel, water)
  • Stay with the fire until it is completely out.

PLEASE CLICK HERE TO SEE THE FIRE WEATHER FORECAST. THIS WILL PROVIDE INFORMATION TO HELP YOU DECIDE IF THE CONDITIONS ARE FAVORABLE TO BURN

Summary

Burning permits focus attention on the safe use of fire. From October 15 through May 15, anyone starting an open-air fire within 500 feet of a forest, grassland, or woodland must by law secure a burning permit from the Division of Forestry. Permits are not required for burning in containers such as a metal barrel with a ½” mesh screen cover. Anyone needing to burn within an incorporated city should contact city authorities about any local burning ordinances. Many towns and cities have their own burning regulations that supersede the Division of Forestry’s burning permit program.

IT IS IMPORTANT TO CONTACT YOUR LOCAL SHERIFF’S OFFICE OR POLICE DEPARTMENT AND GIVE THEM THE PERMIT INFORMATION. THIS WILL HELP PREVENT FALSE CALLS WHICH CAN PUT RESPONDERS AT RISK AND DELAY THEIR RESPONSE TO AN ACTUAL EMERGENCY.

Details

Permits are free of charge and may be obtained by calling the phone number for the county in which the burning will be done or by filling out the online form (choose option below).

Permits will not be issued on days and in locations if it is considered unsafe to conduct a debris burn.

For information on what materials may NOT be burned in Tennessee, please visit Tennessee Department of Environment and Conservation’s Open Burning Guidelines by clicking here.  To report illegal burning, please call toll-free 1-888-891-TDEC

phone permit
This option is available for all types of debris buring activity and in all counties where a burning permit is required.Hours:
Burning permits may be obtained by phone Monday through Friday from 8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. (local time), except on holidays. Permits may be obtained in advance for weekends and holidays.
online permit
This option is only available for burning of individual leaf or brush piles approximately 8 feet by 8 feet or smaller in size.Hours:
Burning permits may be obtained online seven days a week beginning at 9:00 a.m. Eastern/ 8:00 a.m. Central.
The content on this page was mirrored from, and the exclusive property of, the original authors and publishers.This site claims no rights on the text, images, or links on this page.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 271 other followers

%d bloggers like this: